Real installation problem on new HD

I am a newbie to Linux stuff but very familiar with Windows. I have made my new PC and and installed XP on a 500GB HD and everything works like a charm. Then I bought a new 320GB HD and removed the XP HD and tried to install Linux. I installed Ubuntu 8.04 Gnume and it worked fine but I had lots of crashes and system freezes so I decide to give OpenSuse a shot. I reformat my HD and try to install Opensuse 11 KDE 4.1 through DVD. In normal graphic installation it freezes at some point. I have repeated it more than 50 times. Either mouse freezes and the keyboard also freezes or the PC restarts itself or I get blue or green window. Then I tried Gnume and or KDE 3 and they are the same. Sometimes Freeze happens even before selecting the GUI. Then I tried text mode and I get the same crash. Then I tried text mode and safe Kernel and I was able to install it but the text is so blurry. I can not read the commad line in the command window. The PS2 mouse also does not work. If I use a USB mouse it works. My wireless card also does not work but it will be a later issuse that I am not worried that much now. I also checked the DVD and it is error free. Here is also the description of my system. I won’t buy if someone says I have memory problem. Either I am not installing it correctly or there is a bug in the software. Please help.:(:’(

LITE-ON 20X DVD±R DVD Burner with LightScribe Black SATA Model iHAS220-0 pqi TURBO 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model PQI26400 BIOSTAR GF8200 M2+ AM2+/AM2 NVIDIA GeForce 8200 Micro ATX AMD Motherboard AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+ Brisbane 2.6GHz Socket AM2 65W Dual-Core Processor Model ADO5000DOBOX SAMSUNG Spinpoint F1 HD322HJ 320GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive A floppy drive from my old system

Let me summarize. You managed to complete the installation using fail-safe text mode but the fonts looks bad and the screen looks good?