Problems with install

I am installing 11.2 on an older machine, Athlon 2800+, GeForce 6800, 1 GB RAM. Install goes fine until try to reboot to the OS and just get massive garbage on the screen. Can’t see anything just lines crossing the screen, it seems almost like the resolution is way off but don’t know how to change that since I can’t see anything. I tried two different install disks to make sure not the problem and got the same thing with both. I tried installing both KDE and GNOME on separate occasions and still same problem. I have used the same install disk to put this on an even older machine and that went fine. I do have windows 7 installed on another partition. I’m fairly new to linux but I’m learning.

So it installs and goes through the post install config? And you have a working Desktop? Then when you reboot this happens

or

It installs and when it says rebooting and it starts the post install config it fails?

It installs then says it’s rebooting the OS and then get garbage. The computer doesn’t completely reboot. When I do completely reboot, get the same thing.

Do you have a install at this stage now

I did until a few minutes ago, I reinstalled Win 7 to get rid of extra partitions but I will do it again right now if you think you could help

Some of those older cards are really a pain to work with, heck even windows has issues with some of them.
If opensuse fails you may want to try something like PClinux, Mandriva or something in the Ubuntu family, you might have better luck who knows.
But yeh some graphics cards dont like linux.

It’s up to you.
FYI you don’t need to install windows 7 to remove partitions.

Tell me more first.

Were you installing with a Live CD? If yes, then this worked OK?

Have you tried other Distros like Fedora for example?

What Linux have you used before?

The funny part is I put it on an old Geforce 3 Ti 200 two days ago and it worked like a charm this is much newer, do you think that’s still the culprit?