Problems to back to graphic mode

Well, I’ve just started using openSUSE and I’ve never used Linux-base systems before. Anyway, I was installing my video driver and I read in a site to use the command “init 3” in terminal, when I did it, it opened the text-only mode. I tryed, so, to install the driver, which was in my desktop, but then, it asked for some updated kernel database. I got kinda desperate and reboot the system. When I got back, the system was still in the text-only mode (I actually updated the kernel database and installed the driver). However, doesn’t matter what I do, i can’t go back to the graphic mode.

Additional info:
I tryed using the Ctrl+Alt+F7 (but the screen just get black), I tryed using “init x” to see if there where any effect, but nothing changed, I tryed also using Ctrl+Alt+Backspace (cuz they said it would restart the X-Server, but I don’t think it should be used that way XD)

I’d appreciate your help, tks for your pacience and time!

What does

startx

do?

well, it didn’t work…
it appeared something like this:

(==) log file: “/var/log/xorg.o.log”
(==) using config file: “etc/X11/xotg.conf”
FATAL: ERROR inserting NVIDIA (/lib/modules/2.6.27.7-9.default/updates/nvidia.ko): no such devices
(EE) NVIDIA(0): Failed to load the NVIDIA kernel module
(EE) NVIDIA(0): Aborting
(EE) Screen(s): found, but none have a usable configuration.

Fatal server error:
no screens found
giving up.

xinit: conection refused (errno 111): unable to~
xinit: no such process (errno 3): Server error

What should I do then?

You could try configuring automatically with

su -
sax2 -r
exit
startx

If that doesn’t work, you could load the standard vesa driver, which should at least get you into the GUI.

su -
sax2 -r -m 0=vesa
exit
startx

That isn’t a solution, but would make your system usable. Someone more knowledgeable than me is needed for this one though, sorry.

It might help if you posted the error messages. Try

cat /var/log/xorg.o.log
cat ~/.xsession-errors