problem with Samba Server

i followed the sticky (along with other various walkthroughts for opensuse 11.1) on how to set up the samba share for windows network but when i go to my laptop (which runs windows) i can’t access anything

help appreciated

Dave

Kotomine wrote:

>
> i followed the sticky (along with other various walkthroughts for
> opensuse 11.1) on how to set up the samba share for windows network
> but when i go to my laptop (which runs windows) i can’t access
> anything
>
> help appreciated
>
> Dave
>
>
might be beneficial to post the sticky you’re refering to

Suse 11.1 x64, Kde 4.2beta (unstable repo), Opera 9.x weekly

Have you added any samba users with smbpasswd -a?

well i am pretty new to linux so, i just found a how to and followed it and the machines running windows can only see my the linux computer but when clicked on windows says the computer doesn’t exist. In other-words i am kinda lost here.

I’m assuming this is openSUSE version 11.1 we’re talking about? Yes?

Can you please give us the following diagnostic information. Open a console/terminal window and enter the commands below. Then copy/paste the full dialogue you get in the terminal window back here into a reply post:

cat /etc/samba/smb.conf

that should telll us if you’ve configured samba to broadcast it’s resources out to windows machines

cat /etc/sysconfig/SuSEfirewall2 | egrep "FW_SERVICES_ACCEPT_RELATED_EXT|FW_CONFIGURATIONS_EXT"

that should tell us if you’ve configured the firewall to allow Samba through

cat /etc/sysconfig/SuSEfirewall2.d/services/samba-server | egrep "UDP=|BROADCAST="

that should tell us if you fixed a bug in 11.1 firewall GUIs properly

Complicated expressions – might be easiest to use your mouse to copy them from the browser and use Edit → Paste in the console window to enter them.

Luck

sorry this took so long i have pretty hectic work hours and yes its suse 11.1.

cat /etc/samba/smb.conf