Problem accessing server partition

I’m new to OpenSUSE but not to Linux. I’m running Ubuntu Server with a couple of partitions to hold pictures, music, and some files. I opted for OpenSUSE because I wanted to try a different distro and it looks like it has a lot to offer.

I set up SAMBA and SSH on Ubuntu Server and I have no problem accessing all the partitions from Windows XP. I can also access the partitions with OpenSUSE. I cannot access my music partition on OpenSUSE, though. The folders are mp3 files I ripped from my CD. Amorok and Kaffeine will not open the files. I get a dialog box with an “X” when I try to open the files.

I thought this might be an OpenSUSE firewall issue but I can access the other partitions so I kind of doubt it. Maybe there is something specific to Amorok and Kaffeine that I’m missing.

I’m maybe an intermediate Linux user. I’m also not a network admin so hopefully this isn’t a complicated network issue. I appreciate any pointers I can get on this problem. Thanks.

Mark

You realise that out of the box, no codecs for restricted formats are installed, so Amarok and Kaffeine cannot play those clips. There’s a how to for installing restricted formats codecs, search for it in the forum.

I didn’t know there was an issue with mp3 being a restricted format. These files play with practically every other media player I’ve used. Thanks for the info and the quick reply.

Mark

Those codecs are not legal in all jurisdictions due to patent issues. Novell can’t get involved with anything that could be legally risky.

I just took for granted that it should work but I understand what you’re saying. I think I found what I need to make it work and I appreciate your help. Thanks again for the info.

This will be of interest: Multi-media and Restricted Format Installation Guide - openSUSE Forums