Please help me understand what I did wrong (I killed my oST install)

Hi!

I need some help understanding what went wrong because I toasted my system tonight. I want to make it clear that I take full responsibility for what happened and in no way am I saying that this is the fault of oST/zypper/YasT, etc.

I’m new to oS though not to Linux. I’ve used it for years but am no advanced user. Most of my experience is with Debian/Ubuntu/Mint type distros. I’ve switched to oST and so far, I love it, though there are some issues that I’m having that I don’t yet understand.

I was trying to learn more about using zypper. I needed to uninstall a program/service because I was having trouble getting it to work and instead of installing via an rpm, I wanted to install via the official repository that they have. I read that to uninstall using zypper, I should use the command:

sudo zypper rm emby-service
(I read one can also interchange remove for the rm command)

I typed this, it said it was going to remove 114 files and I said, Y. Unfortunately, I’ve yet to figure out how to increase my font size which is really small on our 4K TV and I missed the fact that instead of just uninstalling emby-server, it also removed all of KDE, all of the KDE apps (Dolphin, etc that comes with KDE), and some other things, too. Wayyyy too many to even know everything that’s gone. Obviously, I’m reinstalling from scratch tomorrow but I want to understand why this command went wrong because I can’t see what did it. It seems like it should have worked properly and I don’t want to be scared to try basic command in the future for fear of something similar happening.

Could anyone please help me understand why this happened, what I did wrong, etc? Was my syntax incorrect? Something else? Emby is just a media app and nothing to do with KDE or any other DE/WM so it shouldn’t have been a KDE dependency. In fact, I’ve only run it on Cinnamon thus far. Thanks so much in advance!