Patched openchrome driver for VX900 chipset

Hello there. I have an ECS VX900-I Via motherboard I want to run openSUSE on, but the upstream openchrome driver does not support this board and X fails to start.

Luckily, another user has the same board and issue, and has produced a working patch with a 1 line diff: http://permalink.gmane.org/gmane.linux.debian.devel.bugs.general/1221207

I’d happily compile it with the diff myself, but I’m not a developer and I’m a little stumped on how to do so. Would anyone be so kind as to either build a package for me (amd64 preferred) or hold my hand with step by step walkthroughs?

Thanks so much in advance.

And which openSUSE version are you using?

I can prepare a package for you.

But it would probably be better to file a bug report, asking for that patch to be added to the standard packages. This would help other users as well.
http://bugzilla.opensuse.org/ (same username/password as here)

Thank you very much. I’m using 13.2.

I began poking around the OBS (which I now understand the appeal of!) and branched the package and created a patch, which I then added to the spec file. The build then says the patch did not apply, but does not provide more details. It’s probably a newbie mistake I’ve made in packaging it.

https://build.opensuse.org/package/show/home:opethfan:branches:openSUSE:13.2:Update/xf86-video-openchrome

Hm? It is in state “succeeded” now.
So apparently you managed to fix the build meanwhile…

As that patch is from upstream anyway, it will be part in some future driver version automatically.
Although I see openchrome is still at version 0.3.2 in [noparse]XOrg:X11[/noparse], whereas the latest released version is 0.3.3, so somebody should probably update that, maybe when 0.3.4 is released… :wink:

The package builds, but the patch I generated (-vxpatch.patch) does not show in the build log if placed in the spec file as patch1 (with -abuild.patch as patch0)