openSUSE Rocks!!!

A long-time Windows user, I recently took the free-OS plunge. Been using openSUSE for about a month now, and don’t plan on ever stopping. I came to Linux on purpose, and found openSUSE by chance. No this isn’t some sappy love story…more like a sick twisted tale of addiction.

In my spare time I’ve been developing a mod for an id Tech 3 based game. Well after finally reaching some milestones, I figured for craps and laughs I should compile it for Linux. But I’m stubborn and spoiled by Visual Studio, so if I was gonna go through the pain of setting up cygwin/mingw, why not just set-up a distro on my old laptop. (If you’re gonna smoke something, you might as well inhale :wink: )

So a total noob, I thought to myself, “I’m willing to bet there’s decent documentation if there’s a sizeable community for a distro.” Of course following that assumption I went with Ubuntu. Unfortunately I didn’t fit their “one-size-fits-most” mentality of distro packaging, and completely against my first assumption, I was slapped with forum-centric support->meaning hours of endless searching through unrelated forum posts still not finding out why an app wasn’t even starting (and no I wasn’t trying to run an .exe file<-for all the trolls that might read this).

Figured I had wasted 2-3 days already trying to do the Penguin thing, one more couldn’t hurt. Bam, stumbled upon openSUSE 11.2. Was immediately impressed and that impression keeps getting better the more I use it. First a couple of weaknesses, followed by a multitude of strengths versus other distros. (C’mon, gotta save the best for last).

My frustrations: