openSUSE Newb Here... Can't Access My Own Files?

Hi, I am a brand new openSUSE user. Normally, I use Puppy Linux and Quirky Linux as my main operating systems, but I wanted to get involved with a more mainstream distro for other projects I have in mind. I chose openSUSE. It looks and works great!

The problem for me in getting started… After installation, I copied and pasted all my files into a folder. But when I went to open the files and start work (I’m a writer) openSUSE will let me open and read the files, but I cannot modify them! I think this has something to do with a root password? Which of course I know nothing about. Anyway, the folder is locked and I can’t access my own files and start work! What kind of nonsense is this? Do I need to learn to sign in as root in BASH, or what? How do I access my own files? Any help with this will be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

Please be more explicit about what you did, do and see. Who is the “you” there? A normal user? Where dit you put it, saying "a folder is not very informative. All files go into a directory (or folder if you prefer that word). Which directory and how and from where.

And how do you open the file? Which what can you read them and how/why did you come to the conclusion that you can not write to them?

Did you check the ownership and permissions of (at least one) file?

Do you know that you own the files ? how were they copied?? Note that the user ID is the key to ownership. Is the UID the same? openSUSE defaults the first user UID to 1000 some other OS may use a different UID as the first user or maybe you set a different UID.

Hi!

What desktop environtment did you installed? KDE? Gnome? Xfce? …
what openSUSE version you installed?

How did you copied your files? from an external HD?
You still have the files in the original place?
What kind of files are? Some error message in the screen?
Can you provide some screenshot?