OpenSuse Installation/DVD burn issues

I am a complete Linux noob, besides a few liveCDs (**** Small, Slitaz, Puppy just to experiment with small downloads) but I have never hard drive installed. When I tried OpenSuse, I could not get the ISO to burn correctly. It always fails the mediacheck, even though the ISO passes the Md5 check in Windows. I have used both CDBurnerXP and ISO Recorder, everything fails. I have downloaded the ISO several times, just in case, with both torrent and HTTP. I have literally burned 4 separate DVDs, and I am really frustrated. Any suggestions?

After this, I borrowed my friend’s 10.3 install cd to try that. It has been used before, so I know it works. It also passed the media check option in the boot menu. Whenever I try it, it always fails at the same place: at the end of formatting the drive. The error message is:

Failure occured during the following action:
formatting partition /dev/sdb1 (37.2 GB) with ext3

system error code was: -3008
/sbin/mke2fs -o dir_index -j -v /dev/sdb1:
/bin/sh: /sbin/mke2fs: cannot execute binary file

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Sounds like a bad DVD-ROM drive. These things happen. Can you substitute another unit to test?

Unfortunately, I am away for the weekend, but I will try the Check Media utility on my windows (grr) box when I get home.

Thanks for the help.

Yes check the media also. I suspect your 4 DVDs are fine, but your drive might be dodgy. That’s why having another unit around (yours or borrowed) is handy.

Will do. I need to check if the DVD drive on my Windows box is IDE or SATA. If it is IDE, I will shamelessly “borrow” it to use with my Linux box. Here’s hoping it works.:expressionless:

It may also help you to try a program such as infra recorder or another free burning software.

Alright, the problem was my DVD drive. The DVD passed the media check when booting from my Windows machine. Now I just need to get a new DVD drive.