opensuse 12.2 has problems with software RAID

Hi all,

I am finding that openSuse 12.2 has some problems with software RAID 1, particularly with 0.9 metadata.

I install a large number of systems as part of my job, so I have a network boot image based(tarballs) system for installing a wide variety of distros. I’ve been doing this for many years as it’s much faster than installing from DVD every time, and is easier to backup customizations.

My normal procedure to install a distro onto software raid is to first partition the drives with one of our default scripts, then create software raid devices from them, using the default 0.9 metadata. Then my scripts create filesystems on the partitions, mount them, and untar a backup image onto them. Then the appropriate magic is done to make it bootable (update mdadm.conf, remove old udev entries, run mkinitrd, install grub [accounting for grub2]). I ended up with the system booting into grub 2 rescue mode, claiming that it could not load normal.mod.

I then tried installing from the DVD to the already existing 0.9 arrays. The install seemed to work, but on reboot it goes right back to grub 2’s rescue mode.

I ended up zeroing the drives completely and doing the install with software raid from the DVD only, using the gui for creating the partitions, etc. Doing that, the system is working - it’s able to boot properly now using software RAID1. I’ve noticed that this installation is using 1.0 metadata/superblocks for the RAID devices.

As I need this to be repeatable for multiple systems, I then went back to my network boot and deleted the arrays and recreated them fresh, using 1.0 superblocks like the DVD install used. When the install finishes and I try to run mkinitrd(from chroot, including /proc and /sys), I get this output:

netuno:/ # mkinitrd -v

Kernel image: /boot/vmlinuz-3.4.6-2.10-desktop
Initrd image: /boot/initrd-3.4.6-2.10-desktop
KMS drivers: nouveau
Root device: /dev/md5 (mounted on / as ext4)