OpenSUSE 11 Physical to Linode to VMware /dev/sda missing

Hello everyone,

This is my first time posting here so i appreciate everyone’s help in advance.

I have an OpenSUSE that was migrated from a physical box to Linode without any issues. I was given the task to take that box off linode and put it on a vmware server we have in another location. Simple job i thought.

I shut the system down and booted into a rescue CD. Mounted xvda and rsync’d the files over to the new ext3 partition. I edited the /boot/grub/menu.lst file and /etc/fstab after everything was moved over. grub-install /dev/sda and rebooted the machine.

Here is the issue im having, Grub boots up fine :slight_smile: when it boots it complains it cannot find /dev/sda2 (/ partition) and when it asks if i want it to try to find it by UUID it shows an OLD OLD disk that hasnt been active since on the physical machine.

I completely deleted any UUIDs from menu.lst and fstab. Anyone know what going on here? Any help or advice is appreciated i’ve been googling this for awhile now and i need to finish this up. I’m losing my mind on this and i don’t know where to turn.

Thanks again! I will post menu.lst and fstab below.

Menu.lst

Modified by YaST2. Last modification on Fri Jun 25 19:42:38 EDT 2010

default 0
timeout 8
gfxmenu (hd0,1)/boot/message
##YaST - activate

###Don’t change this comment - YaST2 identifier: Original name: linux###
title openSUSE 11.0 - 2.6.25.20-0.7
root (hd0,1)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.25.20-0.7-pae root=/dev/sda2 resume=/dev/sda2 splash=silent showopts vga=0x314
initrd /boot/initrd-2.6.25.20-0.7-pae

###Don’t change this comment - YaST2 identifier: Original name: failsafe###
title Failsafe – openSUSE 11.0 - 2.6.25.20-0.7
root (hd0,1)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.25.20-0.7-pae root=/dev/sda2 showopts ide=nodma apm=off acpi=off noresume nosmp noapic maxcpus=0 edd=off x11failsafe vga=0x314
initrd /boot/initrd-2.6.25.20-0.7-pae

fstab:

/dev/sda1 swap swap defaults 0 0