OpenSuse 11.3 Startup options

Hello

I’m somewhat new to the Linux world (I have worked on Win since 95), but I’m looking to learn. I am reading through the Linux Bible 2010 right now.

I have a question. I had some issues with my system hanging on the automatic configuration of the install so I searched the web for the issue. After reading this thread:
Hangs at end of SuSe 11 install
I used acpi=off apm=off nolapci as the install options and it worked. My question is, do I need to add those options to the /grub/menu.lst or will the install do that?

Thank you.

Install and report back, lets see what you get first…

I used acpi=off apm=off nolapci as the install options and it worked

Is it installed then ?

Yes it is installed. Sorry, I went to bed after I saw the login screen.

Problem now is I’m getting the “Error loading operating system” if I try to boot without the openSuse CD. I left default to install grub instead of MBR. This was once a Win XP system.

Did the media/firmware/memory test with no issues. My bios has a memory/hard disk test and that passed…

well Nevermind. I had used the openSuse CD to boot, I ejected the CD and restarted and it boots with no problems. Odd occurence. I was searching for this error and found:
SUCCESS STORY: “Error loading Operating System” at end of BIOS bootup
only thing I did was change from bit-shift to LBA-assist in bios for HD.

Anyways, yes DVHenry. OpenSuse is installed, and seems to boot just fine. Looking at boot loader settings in Yast, it does show acpi=off apm=off for default(first) kernel image section(pardon if I don’t have the correct terminology).

So…no issues. I’m starting to love linux. The power of it is more than anything Windows can give.

I’m pleased you got it going, I think you will enjoy openSUSE.

On 2010-08-22 20:36, mpezzell wrote:

> Anyways, yes DVHenry. OpenSuse is installed, and seems to boot just
> fine. Looking at boot loader settings in Yast, it does show acpi=off