opensuse 11.3 install problems on dual boot with xp

Burned os 11.3 iso dvd, booted in dvd, followed install menu. Install doesn’t seem to complete. when I reboot, mbr gives xp and opensuse as choices. XP choice works fine, but opensuse seems to get hung up in more installation prompts and eventually doesn’t accept dvd, but instead keeps asking for cd 1 to be installed in drive. So I back out of OS install and reboot into XP. So xp boot works great, but I can’t seem to get through OS install.

Did you run the option to check the md5sum from the DVD before installing?

Don’t think so. Will do and get back with results. I’m new to this whole operating system install thing. Tried ubuntu 10.04 and kept having probs with grub, so I’m trying OS 11.3.

Is md5sum the “check installation media” option?

Is md5sum the “check installation media” option?

Yes. thats the one.

No md5 is the check you use to test the download. Then media check tests that the disk is properly burned. Check media may or may not use the MD5 check sum method to test the disk image. In any case that is what you want. Also running a memory check also may be a good idea since you have had problems with other distro’s.

OK, I ran the check installation media option and it checked out OK. I don’t really know how to do the md5sum check. I will now run the memory test option.

My understanding on this is that the media check uses the md5sum, i could be wrong.

Update: after I ran the media check and clicked OK, it went into installation mode (no options for me to click on). Now the screen is black and no indication my dvd is running or my HD is crunching. Looks like a locked up system. I’m going to cut power and boot into dvd.

Instructions on MD5 are on the download page.

Allow plenty of time for the memory test it takes a while.

Also you might comment on what hardware you are trying to install on.

Installing on a 2003-2004 emachine T1150

How much memory does that machine have???