OpenSuse 11.2 Mail Server.

I am pretty new to Linux and the whole bit although I am pretty quick at learning.

I have installed 11.2 and am trying to create my own little home network with a website, e-mail and the like.

I was able to get the webserver working and have installed webmin.

My problem though is understanding how to setup the mail server.

Before anyone asks, my ISP allows this, yes I do want a mail server ( hence, why I am asking for help )

I have GNOME Desktop also installed.

Can someone guide me to setting up a simple mail server? ( I also have a domain pointed to my server if this help any )

Thank you.

Here’s a good starting point:

Mail server HOWTO - openSUSE

Bear in mind that nearly all of the things there can be done via YaST. In general I would encourage you to use YaST to do all the configuration and not webmin. Postfix under openSUSE is interesting in that if you modify main.cf yourself, YaST control ceases to be effective. In practice I have been able to configure postfix through YaST, or /etc/sysconfig/postfix (same thing, but using text editor).

There are other aspects not covered by that howto, come back with questions when you get to that point.

Thank you.

That guide was a bit confusing to me. You did mention using YaST, which I would probably prefer.

I attempted it once, but ran into a problem.

I figured out the outgoing mail address. My ISP gave me one to use. The next section is for incoming mail.

It asks for Server, Remote User Name, Password, Local User and Forward Root’s mail to:

What would I put into these?

I suspect those are for fetchmail to use. There are a couple of ways you can go about getting incoming mail.