openSUSE 11.0 Seems Sluggish

This is my first time posting in this forum and my first experience using openSUSE. I love the OS but one major problem I have with it seems to be speed. I have a solid machine HP Pavilion with 2.6 ghz AMD64 2X core processor, 4GB RAM and a 512MB NVidia GForce 8800 graphics card. I have over 1TB of HD space and I’m running Vista 32 Home Premium on a duel boot with openSUSE 11.0. Compared to a few other flavors of Linux that I’ve used on this machine in the past, in particular, Mandriva 2008, Mint, and Mepis 7, openSUSE boots slowly, responds slowly to commands, updates slowly along with slow Internet surfing, etc. Now I wonder if the fact that I’m running the i386 version instead of the AMD 64 version could be what is causing this issue. I will gladly change that if it’s the problem. Other than that, it was love at first sight with this OS. My days of distro hopping are without a doubt “OVER” if I can correct this issue. I honestly cannot see a downside to openSUSE on any level from the art work, to the feel of the design, to using YAST, etc. In fact I would say that this is the OS that would finally allow me to dump Windows, with complete confidence, and know that I can get all of my work done without worry. Any help you can provide will be much appreciated and I’ll give you any info that you feel would help in solving the problem. Thank you!

-----BEGIN PGP SIGNED MESSAGE-----
Hash: SHA1

You may find some interesting points on sluggish Internet experiences in
other threads… possibly in the .network-internet sibling to this
forum. Some of the things I recall include disabling IPv6 along with
some tweaking of FF3. Anyway, those may help a little on that front.
Otherwise there are quite a few tweaks you can make to your box in
general. For example you can enable ‘noatime’ and ‘nodiratime’ on
filesystems so you decrease the amount of hard drive work you have
immediately which is great. This is done by adding ‘noatime’ and/or