Open Source Software Engineering Research

I am a graduate student tasked with coming up with a research project for my software engineering course. I wanted to select a research topic that had to do with Open Source Software development. A few ideas I had were:

1. The development models of OSS development.
  2. The effectiveness and use of formal training of Open Source software developers.

The topic has to be very focused and has to do with Software Engineering. If anybody would like to throw out some ideas it would be great appreciated. Thank you.

Though not strictly to do with engineering, there is a master’s project on Novell and open source which you can locate by entering stoveland_master_final in Google. It may give you some ideas.

Wow that certainly looks like a great read. My topic has to be a lot more focused and the research paper is a lot smaller than a thesis paper would be.

OK what really interests/intrigues you about open source? Don’t start with a grand idea - start with something that has an emotional pull for you because that emotional pull is what will keep you going half way through the project when you don’t seem to be making any headway. Then we can think about how to turn that into a research project.

Thanks for steering me in the right direction John. I am particularly interested in the growth path of a software engineer within the Open Source community. Particularly how does someone go from contributing bug fixes and being an active participant to being hired by a Novel, Red Hat, Cononical, etc. I had to submit my idea this weekend so I determined one thing that ties into this interest is the training. For that reason I came up with this:
So I have determined a SE topic.

Formal Training Within The Open Source Community

Is there any significance placed on formal software engineering training in the Open Source community?

Discuss the prevalence of trained software engineers within the Open Source community.