Only one of four cpu's running

This question was asked and answered here:
Intel Core 2 Quad Shows Only One Core In Cpuinfo - openSUSE Forums

But… I followed instructions to no avail.

I’m running Ubuntu on Asus Rampage MB with Intel dual core quad processor. My system monitor showed 4 processors, but at some point 3 of them quit showing. The uname command shows only 1 processor. I see 4 processors at bios initialization, but 3 disappear during boot. I tried editing the grub menu.lst file but no change.

here is my menu.lst setup:

title Ubuntu 8.04.2, kernel 2.6.24-23-386
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.24-23-386 root=UUID=20f0c99d-4696-42f2-be9b-c2ae7de636d2 ro quiet splash pci=nommconf
initrd /boot/initrd.img-2.6.24-23-386
quiet

I also tried adding acpi=off but that gave me missing tag error.

Any suggestions other than wiping my system and starting over?

Try running glxgears at full screen, see if they kick in.

where do I find that, is it already running? I’m new to Linux though I ran Xenix some 25 years ago.

Never mind, found it. Running it full screen or minimized does nothing for the number of cpu’s showing in system monitor.

> Never mind, found it. Running it full screen or minimized does nothing
> for the number of cpu’s showing in system monitor.

hmmm…i think caf4926 guesses you don’t have enough going on to
‘force’ all cores to not take a nap…and, i guess he may be right,
so why don’t you download and install four instances of something like
folding@home (or seti)…i don’t know how to tell each instance to use
a different cpu (i’ve never had more than one–and mine is only busy
because i run folding), but i believe that info is available somewhere…

maybe search here or on google…

folding is available for download at
http://folding.stanford.edu/English/Download

oh, and it looks like they tell you how load the various cores at
http://folding.stanford.edu/English/FAQ-SMP

primary