No Sound with X-fi on openSuSe11.2... Grrrrrr

First things first… I am a total noob with linux. And I am very sorry if I am not posting in the right place. I am trying desperately to get my sound card working but with no look upto now. Card is recognized in hardware information in Yast control centre, however when i try and play anything there is no sound. I have also tried configuring my sound card but i get An error occurred during the installation of X-Fi. The kernel module error for sound support could not be loaded. This can be caused by incorrect module parameters, including invalid IO or IRQ parameters. I’ll be really grateful if anyone could help me resolve this issue as it’s driving me round the bend. Running openSuSe 11.2 x86_64. Thanks

Support for X-fi in Linux is very new, with support only “just” being added in version 1.0.21 of alsa. The 2.6.31 kernel, which ships with openSUSE-11.2 contains 1.0.21 of alsa. In addition to the kernel, openSUSE-11.2 ships with packaged rpms with 1.0.21 of alsa. So there is support for X-Fi in openSUSE.

However the alsaconf configuration tool is depreciated, and does NOT work with openSUSE-11.2’s /etc/modprobe.d file naming convention. In addition the openSUSE-11.2 tool YaST has NOT been updated to work with the X-Fi sound device.

Hence what you must do is go to the directory /etc/modprobe.d and delete the file “50-sound.conf”.

Then reboot your PC.

Your sound should be working then. Please ensure you go to your mixer (kmix in KDE and alsamixer in gnome) and move up your volume levels, including master, PCM and speaker (I’m not certain what controls X-Fi has).

Note, when testing your audio, please use the 3 checks from the audio troubleshooting guide (typically only 1 or 2 of those will work, so do not be surprised if only one works - you only need 1 to work): SDB:AudioTroubleshooting - openSUSE - How to test your sound

Good luck. Don’t spend too much time on this. Post if you get stumped.