no ping from linux to windows server 2012 r2

I cannot ping any windows servers or windows clients from within Linux. I can ping internal pings (Linux) to my static ip address which is 192.168.1.32 for device enp5s0, my static wifi address 192.168.1.31 on device wlp4s0, can ping gateway, can ping fqdn/host name, internet up and running. I also have a working samba server (on Linux) which I have as a pdc to allow my management to keep sensitive material. from the windows server 2012 R2 side I can ping the Linux static ip and fqdn as well as the gateway. my distro is opensuse 13.2 with all the latest updates installed.
That’s my setup so here’s the question :-----]]]
When I try to ping windows from within Linux (ip or host name) it resolves to the wifi static ip address which in turn then error’s destination host unreachable.
I am very new to linux (I’m a windows installation guy, yep, that’s me ;—]] ). I have been on this project for about 5 weeks. This is where my windows skills end
Please don’t hesitate to request any additional data, and I would like to thank anyone that can push me in the right direction, Simon

“Destination host unreachable” is an error message with a very specific issue… The machine is unable to function on the network because of a local problem, likely a configuration problem.

You need to start with how your network interface network settings are configured, by DHCP? Usually DHCP will assign working network settings, it’s very rare for DHCP settings to be non-working.

You should also verify your local network interface is working.
One way is to run the following command, which should return your network settings for a localhost and any other network interfaces.
Post the results of the following if you don’t understand the results

ip addr