No Operating System Found - Post Install

Hello all,

I am fairly new to Linux, so please be kind.

I have been trying to install openSUSE 11 a few times now on a Thinkpad T61.

I have tried the install many different ways with the same result.

After a successful install (no patches update done during install), I can login to the computer fine. I configure auto online updates. After it gathers updates and installs them it wants to reboot. Once the system is starting back up again I get a “No Operating System Found” message.

Another time I did try the updates during the install as well. Same result after it rebooted.

Obviously there is some update that is causing this to happen.

I’m stuck. I want to make sure the machine is updated, but it bombs after reboot.

Your time and help is greatly appreciated.

Please advise.

Regards.

Try using the automatic repair facility from the installation DVD. Boot off the DVD and select to “repair installed system”. Proceed and select to install “expert tools” a new bootloader first. See if that helps.

Sometimes when a new kernel gets installed initrd doesn’t get made
check /boot for it if initrd somenumber isn’t there run mkinitrd in a terminal as root
do so before you reboot
Suse 11.1 has been having this problem and mounting root partition and doing mkinitrd
after installation and before first boot solved the problem

Thanks for the feedback guys.

swerdna, I did tried your suggestion first. It said it created the new boot loader, then when I click finished, it brought me to a blue screen with a red error box. The blue screen reads: >>> Linuxrc v3.1.34 (Kernel 2.6.25.5-1.1-default) <<<
Red screen reads: An error occured during the installation. There is an ok button for the error window.
Then I am prompted with a screen to do many things, I chose reboot at that point. After it rebooted, I still ge No Operating System message.

dale14846, I’ll try your method next and post back.

Thanks!

Is there another OS on this T61?