No Network

Hello beautiful people of this forum,

This is my very first post in this forum and so hoping I could get some help here. Be warned that I am very new to linux and though I can grasp some of the concepts… BUt really, I am a newbie…

I have this laptop with a model number asus k40ij which I installed Open Suse 11.0 on another partition. The laptop has dual boot with Windows.

Problem is, the ethernet, wireless card and the sound card is not working… I tried to to insall every packages that I think has something to do with drivers of the said phreiperals to no avail.

I cannot download from the internet for any required software since there is no medium that is active on my laptop to do such connection.

I am more of a networking guy who wish to know more about the great OS which is Linux. Hope you can show me steps on how to install packages the correct way. Also, id like to know if the laptop I have is supported.

If in case I am able to download the software needed for it, how do i transfer it to the Suse OS?

With an up and running Suse laptop, I am sure I can use that tool to know more about the OS.

Thanks for your time… :slight_smile:

First thing : why don’t you installed de openSUSE 11.3?

Thank you for your reply. Can you direct me to a link where to download such update? I’ll try to look for one but it would be nice if I can get from an experienced user. The disk I have installed was only given to me by a friend. Anyway, thanks for your advice.

You can download openSUSE 11.3 from here

Hi levi8200
Welcome to the SuSE forum community.

As noted several times above SuSE 11.3 plays “nice” with most common WiFi hardware encountered in laptops, when you install I would recommend a hard wired net interface, once YaST has worked it’s magic the WiFi should not be a challenge.

Best of luck and enjoy SuSE