No Ethernet device After Installing Updates

Good day to all:

I’d like to apologize in advance if this topic has been posted before, but I’ll give it a try.

I’m currently using SuSE 11.4 and after running the full online updates and restarting the machine as YAST suggested, I no longer have eth0/eth1 available.

I’m clueless about what to do since I’m kinda new to Linux and at the moment, I’m trying out all the distros before making a full commitment to anyone. So far, Ubuntu has been trouble-free from day one, but I’m willing to give this distro (opensuse) some slack.

Thanks in advance for any help provided.

I can’t see what happened to your computer. Can you please post the result of typing in a console:

/sbin/ifconfig

/sbin/route -n

cat /etc/resolv.conf

You may also want to try to re-configure your network card with Yast and see if this helps.

Sorry for the late reply and thanks for your time.

This is what I got from what you suggested me:

/sbin/ifconfig
Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:6 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:6 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:340 (340.0 b) TX bytes:340 (340.0 b)

/sbin/route -n
Kernel IP routing table
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
127.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 255.0.0.0 U 0 0 0 lo

cat /etc/resolv.conf

/etc/resolv.conf file autogenerated by netconfig!

Before you change this file manually, consider to define the

static DNS configuration using the following variables in the

/etc/sysconfig/network/config file:

NETCONFIG_DNS_STATIC_SEARCHLIST

NETCONFIG_DNS_STATIC_SERVERS

NETCONFIG_DNS_FORWARDER

or disable DNS configuration updates via netconfig by setting:

NETCONFIG_DNS_POLICY=‘’

See also the netconfig(8) manual page and other documentation.

Note: Manual change of this file disables netconfig too, but