NIS setup with user home directory on one server

Hi all,

I am new to OpenSuse.

I am attempting to setup the following:

1.User login/authentication via a single NIS server.
2. User home directory should also be on the Same NIS server.
3. If possible to setup a single shared home directory for all users.

OpenSuse version 11.2

There are twelve workstations from which users will login using the NIS authentication.

I have succeeded in setting up NI server. However login fails as the home directory is not accessible.

Any help / suggestions would be welcome.

Tushar

On Tue, 2010-05-04 at 20:46 +0000, tvyoda wrote:
> Hi all,
>
> I am new to OpenSuse.
>
> I am attempting to setup the following:
>
> 1.User login/authentication via a single NIS server.
> 2. User home directory should also be on the Same NIS server.
> 3. If possible to setup a single shared home directory for all users.
>
> OpenSuse version 11.2
>
> There are twelve workstations from which users will login using the
> NIS authentication.
>
> I have succeeded in setting up NI server. However login fails as the
> home directory is not accessible.

Did you export the home directory via NFS off the server where the home
dirs reside?

Also, you want to look at using a location other than /home, else make
sure that all local dirs go somewhere else.

>
> Any help / suggestions would be welcome.
>
> Tushar
>
>

Sorry to sound dumb btu can you elaborate on exporitng home directory via NFS please?

Tushar

I suppose that when you know about NIS, you know about NFS. NFS is the software that makes it possible to have the disk space of one system available on the other. Thus when you have the home directories of your users physical on one system you use NFS to have them also on the other system. OR, when you have all the users on both systems, you do not export/mount every individual home directory, but the whole /home directory from one system to the other(s).