Newb - virtualbox failed during 13.1 install

Hello, I’m new to OpenSuse. I noticed a line when installing that something failed with Virtualbox.

How do I troubleshoot?

Thanks,
Mike

Please describe the problem in more detail.

When did you notice the line?
Did you install openSUSE inside VirtualBox or on real hardware?
From which installation medium did you install? (full DVD, KDE/GNOME Live, Netinstall-ISO)

Do you actually have any problem, or did you just see some message about VirtualBox?
Could be that the VirtualBox guest additions failed to start, but that’s normal on real hardware.
When you install from a Live ISO, they get installed as well.
To get rid of that message, just enter YaST->Software Management, search for “virtualbox” and uninstall all packages found.

Background:
The LiveISOs do contain the VirtualBox guest additions so that they run better inside VirtualBox.
When you install from a LiveISO, just the whole content of the ISO is copied to your hard disk. So the guest additions will be there as well then although they are useless.
But as I said already, they don’t cause problems either, they just print a message that they couldn’t start.

Thanks for the quick reply.

I noticed message when installing on real hardware from a live ISO dvd (13.1 KDE). Unfortunately I wasn’t paying close attention. I noticed a line with the words “Virtualbox” and “failed”.

I don’t really know if I have a problem or not. I thought VB was an included application so I expected to see it in the menu, but I didn’t.

The computer is an older dual core intel that had XP. I intend to run XP in VB.

Then that’s definitely the “Virtualbox guest additions” that fail to start because you are not running inside VirtualBox.
Either ignore that message, or uninstall the packages “virtualbox-guest-kmp-desktop”, “virtualbox-guest-tools” and “virtualbox-guest-x11”.
They are useless on real hardware anyway.