New to Suse

Sorry for the total lack of knowledge but I’ve never done anything with Linux except to load it.

I’ve installed it on a Lenovo N100 laptop. It installed just fine and works when the Ethernet cable is hooked into it. But I can’t for the life of me figure out how to get it to find the wireless network. This is my neighbor’s computer and her network is unsecure so I don’t even have to put in a network key. Her router is a D-link/G model. She has a desktop with a D-link USB adapter and XP on it that hooks up just fine so I know the network works. I just can’t figure out a way to get her laptop to 1) find a wireless network, and 2) hook up to the wireless network.

Like I said I’m new to Linux. I know that in XP you can go into the Device Manager and see if any devices, like a wireless adapter, is enable or not but I don’t know how to do that in Suse. In XP it just automatically discovers any wireless networks in range but on Suse I can’t find any.

I’ve clicked on the little network icons at the bottom but it just doesn’t seem like it’s detecting any networks.

Any info you guys/gals can give me on the basic how to of setting up a network would be appreciated. Please keep in mind once again that I’m not well versed in Suse, or Linux in general, and don’t know most of the terms or how-to’s that most of you probably do. Thanks.

First go to Yast - Network Devices - Network Settings
and configure you wireless device in there

Then right click the Network Manager on the Panel and add wlan
fill in the details
save and connect

remember you need the SSID and passphrase - you may also need your wireless MAC to be added to the router as a allowed access point

**Sorry I didn’t get back to you sooner. This is my friends laptop and I had to have her bring it over.

I did what you said. I went into YaST. I clicked on the Network Settings. I’m not exactly sure how to configure my wireless device. Do I click on “Edit”??