New to opesuse . Need help !! Please reply !! ASAP

Heloo guys, i am new to opensuse so please advice me about which Suse version should i install.

Opensuse 11.4 or Opensuse 12.1

and among GNOME and KDE which desktop should i choose and why?

Please reply ASAP !!

Why not try a live CD of both kde and gnome
12.1 has gnome 3
11.4 has gnome 2

This really isn’t a help question is it.

Have you used Linux before and if so, what?

No its the first time i am using linux as in my college that is IIT Mumbai my professor advised me to switch to linux instead of using windows and he also asked me to use KDE desktop and when i asked him why and other questions he told me to discover it myself and so i am here. Since you guys are much habitual to this OS hence i need some advices

Yeah it is a help question. I am totally a newbie and i cannot find any pdf or source to start using Opensuse from very beginnig so take it seriously guys.

@caf4926

what is difference between a live cd and normal one(4.7 GB) available on the opensuse download portal.

and listen i have istalled both kde and gnome of 12.1 in dual boot with my windows 7, KDE seems to be more close to windows 7 infact it has a better interface and i have decided to go with KDE correct me if i am taking a wrong step.

Now what i am goin to say will sound weird…

now i have learn to install flash player, VLC player in KDE.

and the big dick problem is installing drivers for my radeon 5450. I have tried various ways on internet but cant find a successfull one. If you guys have installed your amd/ati drivers n suse then please post the method.

Hello himanshuas2711,

LiveCDs contain only one desktop environment and don’t have all the language packages on the disc.
These languages can be installed from repositories after installing openSUSE.

The 4.7 GB is a DVD iso and contains multiple desktop environments and more packages.
You can always install these packages afterward if you installed using a liveCD.