new to linux question

Hi I am new to Linux and am looking to install it on my laptop. I have an AIX background.

I have been researching for the “right” solution for me.
I was wondering a few things about SUSE.

How hard is it to get wireless/network working ?

I have a Verizon wireless modem card. How would I get that to work. I looked on their site but did not see a Linux client for this device.

Is there some SW that works on Linux?

What about my IPOD. I see things for other MP3 players but not Apple ITunes. Or do I need to convert my files etc.
I also have a WinCE palm 700W phone that sync with my outlook. Is there a client that will work with Linux?

I would like to get off Windows but have to keep it around for various apps like the ones mentioned above.

Thanx for any info you can share.

CJ

Some other questions I have…

I have a network attached drive that has 2 usb drives off it. They are NTFS and win32 formats. Can they be seen my Linux? Also if I plug in a USB drive/stick will it be seen?

I use SD cards for my camera with a sd reader will that be an issue?

Sorry for so many questions just trying to figure this all out before I make the leap.
CJ

A lot depends on the hardware provided. Some is supported, not normally by the vendor but as a result of work by Linux developers. Try the version of your wireless modem plus ‘Linux’ in Google and see if you get any responses.

Not sure about this.

There is no need to give up all in one go. Why not take advantage of dual-booting and get to know in steps what you can do immediately, what you can do with a little more familiarity with Linux and where you may need to wait for the issues you have to be solved.

thanx for the info. I dont plan on giving up windows all at once. I know there will be application I need to use that Linux wont support just yet.

I do plan on a dual boot. Just want to see if I can get the majority of the apps i do use like ipod and wireless/wireless modem to work first.