New to Linux - ATI radeon 3870 installation help!

hello. I am VERY new to linux and i was wondering exactly what i need to do to install the ati-driver-installer-8.16.20-i386.run sitting on my desktop at /home/sean/Desktop/ati-driver-installer-8.16.20-i386.run

i am running opensuse 11.0
ANY help would be greatly appreciated.

Also - i installed cairo dock from the package installer - now how do I get it running? sorry for the noobness.

you might want to try the ati repo here by adding this addy to yast
Additional YaST Package Repositories - openSUSE

or if you want to install the drivers you downloaded, go into terminal cd /home/sean/Desktop/
then su to get root privileges then type ./ati-driver-installer-8.16.20-i386.run

I did what you said above and got:
CORSAIR:/home/sean/Desktop # ./ati-driver-installer-8.16.20-i386.run
bash: ./ati-driver-installer-8.16.20-i386.run: Permission denied

:s linux doesnt like me? :stuck_out_tongue:

when your in terminal type
su
then your root password
then ./ati-driver-installer-8.16.20-i386.run

sean@CORSAIR:~/Desktop> su
Password:
CORSAIR:/home/sean/Desktop # ./ati-driver-installer-8.16.20-i386.run
bash: ./ati-driver-installer-8.16.20-i386.run: Permission denied

just grasping at straws now but try moving the file to another folder instead of your desktop

and if that don’t work maybe adding that repo to yast2 would be better

If you are a noob, I would stay away from the installer. There are a half dozen other programs (dependencies) that have to be installed before the installer will work. But if you insist, at least read the instructions linked on the page where you downloaded the driver.

An easier way would be to go to YAST / Software Repositories / Community repostories and add the ATI repo.

Then go to YAST / Software Management and do a search for fglrx. Install the two files, then log out and log back in.

When you get back to the desktop run this command in the terminal

fgl_glxgears