Netgear wg311 v3 installation help

I am new to Linux only just installed Opensuse for the first time yesterday. I am computer savy when it comes to windows but I thought it was time to make a change.

Anyway my problem is that Opensuse did not install the driver correctly for my Netgear wg311 V3 and I would like some help with this. I have tried to google the answer but any answers I find are to complex for me to understand at this stage being new to linux. What I did find suggested something about using a ndiswrapper and the windows xp driver. At the moment I am connected via ethernet but this is a pain running cable through my lounge room. Also my sound doesnt seem to be working but maybe thats better left for another topic.

Just remember I am a linux n00b.
Thanks for everyones help in advance.

Also it says this about the device. Not sure if it helps or not. If you need more info just ask and I will try my best to get it for you.

88w8335 [Libertas] 802.11b/g Wireless (Not connected)
BusID : 0000:03:02.0

Unable to configure the network card because the kernel device (eth0, wlan0) is not present. This is mostly caused by missing firmware (for wlan devices). See dmesg output for details.

you will need to use NDIS Wrapper and the windows drivers

here is an openSuse howto

Ndiswrapper howto - openSUSE

Thanks I will try what you suggested. I will post back if I have any issues.

When I start Network settings in Yast2 I get this message pop up each time.

There is a ndiswrapper configuration detected.
But the kernel module was not modprobed.
Do you want to modprobe ndiswrapper.

Yes or No

I select yes but after I restart my pc and go back into Network settings I get the same prompt.
Is this supposed to happen or am I doing something wrong?

grizzlywright wrote:
> When I start Network settings in Yast2 I get this message pop up each
> time.
>
> There is a ndiswrapper configuration detected.
> But the kernel module was not modprobed.