Need some reassurance here...

Hey everybody, I want to dual boot openSUSE 11.2 and Windows 7. I already have Windows 7 installed but I have encountered multiple issues in the past with trying to make dual boots. Usually when I install Linux, GRUB decides it wants to go into world domination mode, and “breaks” my Windows installation. I have reason to believe this is because the distros I use come with legacy GRUB, (v0.97) and for some odd reason it lacks commands such as “update-grub” etc. This means I cannot add Windows 7 to the boot menu without going into extreme complications, which have NEVER, I repeat NEVER succeeded. When I boot the Windows drive directly, I get some error about GRUB not finding the device, and it puts me into a grub rescue command line. Now I am no expert in this field at all, but wouldn’t that mean that GRUB wrote itself to the MBR of…oh I don’t know, ALL of my hard drives? I really want to install openSUSE 11.2, but from bad experience I am really put off as I know that it ships with legacy GRUB v0.97…

I am also running Fedora 13 at the moment, I have quite an experimental dual boot running…been trying to get GRUB 2 for hours now, it is definitely there but no commands work, “upgrade-grub-from-legacy” and “update-grub” return with command not found. I’ve heard this is just a bug but can anybody confirm that there will definitely be a way for me to “fix” my windows installation after it gets “broken” by GRUB?

EDIT: Second idea, unplug my windows hard drive while openSUSE installs?

Well i’m a complete newbie in linux and i installed both SUSE and Ubuntu without them messing up windows… :wink:

Install CD detects windows loader and at some point in installation asks what bootloader you want to keep… I set up that SUSE bootloader installs and it reckognizes windows without problem…