need help on switching hard drives please!

hi folks,

sorry i am new to this so please excuse my ignorance when using the forums.
as well i am a very novice computer individual so please go easy on me and use “dumbed down” terminology if you wish to help me as i have no clue or understanding as to what people are telling me sometimes.
i have an issue and i was wondering if there was someone that could help me out?

i have a desktop that i have been working on and i wanted to install a new hard drive and operating system.
my current set up is a western digital WD2500js hard drive and i’m using windows xp pro as my o.s.
i recently purchased windows 7 ultimate and since my hard drive was on its way out i purchased a western digital wd15ears on the sales persons recommendation.
when i went to change the hard drive i noticed that they were different. there was no place to put the 4 pin power connector on the new hard drive.
everything else looks the exact same although i am aware that looks are not related to functionality.
i was wondering if anyone knew if i was able to use this hard drive in my computer? i do have many other cables coming from the back of my power supply and wondered if one of them was possibly the right power connector for this hard drive? possibly a 15 pin connector??
i wasn’t sure if all the pin connectors along the base of the hard drive were power connectors or if they were for a different strap of some kind?
as i said the two drives look identical but the 4 pin connector is not on the new hard drive.
if anyone is able to help me out that would be fantastic.
thanks in advance for any asistance!

best regards,
jay:(

Hi,

Your original hard drive has a PATA (Parallel ATA) interface. This means that power is applied through a 4-pin connector and data through a 40-pin connector using flat ribbon cable.