Need help dual booting with Vista

Hey guys, I just got a new PC a few months ago and it shipped with Vista Home Premium. I want to also run opensuse, but I want to keep my Vista OS on to play my games and whatnot.

My hard drive is 640GB with about 300GB used up right now.

I’m a complete noob when it comes to partitions and stuff, and all I know right now is Dell shipped it with a 10GB partition as a backup.

Right now all I have is the DVD that downloaded and no other linux-installing/booting programs.

How would I go about installing opensuse, but also keeping my vista intact and bootable? (I’m fine with getting rid of that backup partition since I have my original vista cd)

This will only get you so far along the road as i do not know any opensuse specifics.

Your harddrive will most likely show as hda1 and hda2 with different sizes, this should allow you to identify which partition is the main windows one and which one is the backup.

To install on the backup partition simply delete it and create a new partition in the unallocated space.

Another option would be to use partition magic or something similar to create a new partition from free space in the already existing windows partition, however this can fail and i wouldn’t recommend it.

During the install you will also get an option to install a bootloader (grub?) to select what operating system to boot at startup.

Yet another popular option is to run a virtual machine inside windows and run linux inside it or vice versa, however the dual boot path should be easiest one and will teach you alot.

Thanks, but I’ve been reading about a lot of people not being able to get back into vista once they’ve installed opensuse. I’ve figured out what I’m going to do so far while the dvd is still downloading: