ncurses and data types

In ncurses the function waddstr adds characters to a window. The declaration in curses.h is:

int waddstr(WINDOW *win, const char *str);

Let’s say mystring is a pointer to a character array. The chars can be declared signed or unsigned.

Version 1:

unsigned char mytext[LENGTH];
unsigned char *mystring = mytext];
res = waddstr(mywin, mystring);

Version 2:

char mytext[LENGTH];
char *mystring = mytext];
res = waddstr(mywin, mystring);

The problem is: Version 1 works perfect, even when mytext contains characters from the upper part of the iso-8859-1 charset but - obviously - generates gcc compiler warnings.

Version 2 gives no warnings; the compiler is happy. BUT characters above the ASCII range are displayed inverse and blinking (which is not what I want).

Anyone having an idea how to do it properly (no warnings, correct display) ?

I am not an expert here, but could it be that ncurses is still strongly connected to the time that terminals were ANSI (or ASCII) terminals, which among other things means that only the ASCII range of characters is supported? I do have an HP character terminal here (glass TTY) that does ANSI and VT… and I bet that it can only show ASCII. It does of course support ncurses (or should that be worded the other way around?). Thus the hardware suported by ncurses is not even able to show the characters you want to send. The fact that you use other hardware (an emulated glass TTY on a PC monitor) does not alter this.

When that is true, the fact that you found a way to send unsupported characters that are shown as you wanted them is nice for you and I think you should swallow the warnings. It are only warnings, you are warned and accept the risks :slight_smile: