My freedom is really taking a hit this year.

This is my last year at college. I’m studying Electrical Engineering. In all of my courses this semester, we have to use proprietary programs that only run on windoze. It’s the same way for all of the classes I have to take this final year. Because of all the windoze-only programs I have to use (PowerWorld, “Power Systems 1”, Excel, MS Project 2007, and more), I didn’t have enough hard drive space to install all of them on my laptop and keep my Suse installation. So I had to wipe out Suse and just keep Windoze. So I’m chained to windoze this last year. I have to use it at home and at school, and the worst insult of all was when I had to install windoze on my own laptop, which I had planned on installing Suse on. I swear, as soon as this school year is over, I’m going to wipe Windows off first thing right after they hand me my diploma.

I feel for ya. I’m studying Computer Science, and so far the only proprietary program I had to use was Visual Studio for my Data Structures class.

It really was a nice IDE, but I had it installed in a VMWare virtual machine, and the performance hit on my 3.5 year old laptop was sometimes very aggravating.

Now I am doing my C/C++ on Code::Blocks, and Java on Eclipse (as always).

The sad reality is that sometimes we can’t do without Wincrap.
I am doing a lot of much needed DVD backing up and encoding, and I need apps like CDRoller and DVD Flick. I can’t find anything even remotely resembling them in Linux (even if DVD Flick is made out of open source components).

Once you get out of the Windows gaol, you’ll really appreciate the freedom.

What freedom?

You mean like in Freedom Fries? Because all the wincrap-winbl0wz-zomg-l0lz sounds pretty childish to me - much like those fries.

It’s just an OS - get over it.

In general, I agree that Windows (and also Mac, even though you don’t mention it) have an edge over Linux for DVD creation.