mounting devices in Suse 11.2

Hi,

I came into this strange behavior related to mounting DVDs and/or CDs in SuSE 11.2 :
after inserting a DVD intro the DVD unit, and mounting it through the “device notifier” applet, I find the disk mounted in /media under a folder named after the disk label (as expected) BUT … the folder is in fact padded with blanks after the name found as label for the disk.
For ex.: I have a DVD called DVD_ROCK2
The mounting is made in "/media/DVD_ROCK2 " (the folder created at mounting time in /media has 14 characters (if I counted them correctly) instead of the only 8 from the name of the disk

Now, please, can anyone tell me where do I have to change this behaviour ?

This does affect my application “cdcollect”, which crashes when it encounters a mounted disk which contains spaces in it’s label.
I tried to adjust cdcollect, by modifying it’s dources (trying to “trim” the name readed as disk-label, but with no results; anyway I am not good at C#, and even kinda hate this language, so… I’d prefer a solution coming from Linux’s point of view: what changed in the mounting system from Suse 11.1 till now ? what can I do to change this way of mounting the disks ?

Stranger enough, I cannot state this happens with every single one of my DVDs; the ones wich are mounted this way are generally written in the same PC, in older versions of SuSE (11.0 and 11.1).
Unfortunatelly, I had an older written disk (way back on SuSE 9.x) which does not behave this way (it is mounted in a folder with the name created exactly as the label is, without the padded spaces).

Thanx

> For ex.: I have a DVD called DVD_ROCK2
> The mounting is made in "/media/DVD_ROCK2 "

are you certain the the DVD’s actual label is not "DVD_ROCK2 "?

where that " " might be a tab stroke (or two) or four ‘spaces’ or
maybe a couple of presses of enter (a pair of unseen end of line and
line feed characters)…there are probably other possibilities i’m not
aware of…

palladium