mod_auth_ntlm_winbind SSO not working

I have a working Samba/WinBind installation on an openSUSE 12.3 installation. I can login with my Windows credentials via SSH without any issues.

I’m now trying to use mod_auth_ntlm_winbind to implement SSO on a website hosted on this server. I’ve setup my environment according to the adLDAP site. I can pass all tests:

I’ve added the wwwrun user account to the winbind group.

My problem seems to be that the Apache server can’t write to the winbindd_privileged directory/pipe. Here are the relevant messages from the Apache error_log:

[Sun May 05 09:59:03 2013] [debug] mod_auth_ntlm_winbind.c(482): [client X.X.X.X] Launched ntlm_helper, pid 4489
[Sun May 05 09:59:03 2013] [debug] mod_auth_ntlm_winbind.c(652): [client X.X.X.X] creating auth user
[Sun May 05 09:59:03 2013] [debug] mod_auth_ntlm_winbind.c(693): [client X.X.X.X] failed to write NTLMSSP string to helper - wrote 0 bytes

That is all the lines I get per page request.

I’ve changed the rights on the winbindd_privileged directory to 777 just to see if that helped and it didn’t. I’ve read through the code for mod_auth_ntlm_winbind and basically it says that if the # of bytes written to the helper are not equal to the expected # of bytes they the server request will fail with a 500 which is what I am getting.

My browser is set to see the site in question as a local intranet site (IE 8.0).

I’ve run Wireshark and tcpdump on the client and server and I can see that the client sends in a NTLM negotiate request to the server in the initial request so it looks like it should work but I’m getting no where.

Anyone have any idea where I’m going wrong?

Thanks,

Mike

Configs:

(NOTE: I have checked: KeepAlive On is configured by default in the distribution)

vhost.conf
<Directory “/srv/test-vhost/htdocs”>
AuthName “NTLM Authentication thingy”
NTLMAuth on
NegotiateAuth on
NTLMAuthHelper “/usr/bin/ntlm_auth --helper-protocol=squid-2.5-ntlmssp”