LVM Based Install - cannot create volume group system

Hi all, I am relatively new to linux and I am hoping someone can help me out :slight_smile:

I have a 250GB HDD, with Win7 installed on a 40GB partition, the rest of the HDD is currently “unallocated” as I intend to install openSUSE here. My question is this: how can I install openSUSE 12.1 using the “Create LVM Based Proposal” option?

If I try to enable this option, the partition manager would only display the line “Create volume group system (0B) from” in red, with nothing else underneath. However, if I uncheck the LVM option, the installer will propose the usual set of partitions, with 2GB swap, 20GB for /, and the rest for home.

I am using the 32-bit Live CD KDE for openSUSE 12.1.

Thanks

I can only go by my experience.

I installed 11.4 with an encrypted LVM setup. I already had a 100M partition for “/boot”, a 20G partition for WinXP, a 1G NTFS logical partition for data sharing between Windows and linux, and a couple of linux partitions. It proposed a crazy setup.

I deleted everything except the 100M (for “/boot” the WinXP partition and the 1G data partition. Then I tried again. That time, it proposed to put the rest of the disk in the LVM. I went with that, and have been fine with it.

Later, I wanted to do the same on another computer, but I didn’t want to put all of the disk (except Windows) into the LVM. I already had a 100M partition for “/boot”. I deleted other linux partition, and created a 110G partition with type code 8e (I did that with “fdisk”). Then I tried to install. The installer would have nothing to do with it, and wanted something crazy.

I then booted the live KDE system from CD, got into Yast, and into the Yast partitioner. With that, I was able to setup my 110G partition as an encrypted LVM, and divide it into root, swap and /home logical volumes. That is to say, I created the logical volumes and gave them suitable names.