LTE modem on Dell Precision 3510

HI,

i’m new to Suse and managed at last to install it on my Dell.

Other stuff is working, but DW5811 (wwan0) is present but not usable. any help, how can i use this connection? any GUI to use it?

i found settings on “Gnome Nettool” but it wont let me start this service. I know this might be just a stupid thing from my side, i have used debian before, but Suse is new to me…

Kari

Welcome to OpenSUSE and to the Forums! Since you reference Leap 42.TWO, please be aware that this version is currently in Alpha3 test, so if you found a bug please file a bugreport.
Apparently you are using Gnome? Check with System Settings (click on the upper right corner, select button with tools), select Network, you should see all recognized peripherals.
If your DW5811 has an odd switching mechanism, it might need special commands to expose the modem.
Maybe that Snapdragon chipset is not yet supported. Please confirm your OpenSUSE version and Desktop Environment meanwhile.

Can you please confirm if you really are using Leap 42.2 (as opposed to 42.1)?

Some of these embedded 4G devices are connected to the usb subsystem, so this might confirm chipset and driver for us

usb-devices
  • Just the output block pertaining to your LTE device please.

You mentioned that wwan0 device node exists, so that is a good sign that it is supported by the kernel (assuming that I understood your initial staement correctly). You can confirm with

/sbin/ifconfig

Have you tried configuring with NetworkManager? That is how I used to manage my 3G connectivity in a previous HP laptop I had with device inbuilt device. (Very useful for field work.)

You are right - it is 42.1, my mistake.

usb-devices

T: Bus=02 Lev=01 Prnt=01 Port=01 Cnt=01 Dev#= 2 Spd=5000 MxCh= 0
D: Ver= 3.00 Cls=00(>ifc ) Sub=00 Prot=00 MxPS= 9 #Cfgs= 1
P: Vendor=413c ProdID=81b6 Rev=00.06
S: Manufacturer=Sierra Wireless, Incorporated
S: Product=DW5811e Snapdragon™ X7 LTE
S: SerialNumber=LF61251160011013