LEAP 15.2 overwrites my custom keyboard configuration.

Hello, I am new to openSUSE and thus to this forum. Sorry if the post was not meant to be in this section but it looked like the most suitable one.

I recently installed openSUSE LEAP 15.2
I changed my keyboard configuration customising the file

/usr/share/X11/xkb/symbols/es

For instance I have

default  partial alphanumeric_keys
xkb_symbols "basic" {

include "latin(type4)"

name[Group1]="Spanish";

include "level3(ralt_switch)"

… ( several customised keys with no problem)

key <AE08> {   8,               parentleft,         parentleft,             lessthanequal       ] }; // 8 ( ( ≤
    key <AE09> {   9,               parentright,        parentright,            greaterthenequal    ] }; // 9 ) ) ≥

… rest of the file.

In order to avoid conflict, I changed all the variations of the keyboard, so that they only include the basic layout i.e.

partial alphanumeric_keys
xkb_symbols "cat" {

include "es(basic)"

name[Group1]="Catalan (Spain, with middle-dot L)";
};

However, when I click [AltGr + key <AE08>] I get a “bracketleft” instead of a “parentleft”
This happens with a few keys, but the vast majority are correctly set up (and some of them really custom). I have detected [AltGr + key <AE08>], [AltGr + key <AE09>], and [AltGr + SHIFT + key <AE03>] but there may be more.

I am guessing something is overwriting my configuration but I am unable to find what. BTW, I have never understood why keyboard configuration is always such a mess with multiples files and sections competing with each other.

I have checked the “Keyboard - System Settings Module” and there is nothing there but the es Spanish layout without shortcuts or special features. I even deleted this layout from the System Settings Module trying to make LEAP only to read the file in …/symbols/

Any help would be welcomed.
Thanks