kernel 2.6.30.4

I plan on updating Suse 11.1 to the latest stable kernel, 2.6.30.4 This is something I have never tried before.

So before I blow up my computer :wink: Anyone have any thoughts and words of advice?

I just compiled yesterday 2.6.30.4 on openSUSE 11.1 and X11 crashes on start on my laptop with Intel GM45 rendering the display blank. At runlevel 3 (no X) it seemed fine, but without AppArmor of course.

The worst thing is that now with the standard 2.6.27.23-default (I downgraded from .25 to check a glitch with WiFi), when I log into KDE, the login process hangs. Iā€™ll check it this weekend, probably something overwritten in /lib/firmware.

I have only one advice, if you use AppArmor then it wonā€™t work with the 2.6.30 version (iā€™m not 100% sure but it probably wonā€™t work), other than that it should be fine but be sure to use kernel for 11.1 (that got compiled with gcc 4.3.x) and the same kernel source and kernel-headers. It should have superior hardware support and it also boots a lot faster than the old one lol!

My problem with 2.6.27 and KDE login was disc full :shame:

I finally got 2.6.30.4 to work with X, but I had to update the Xorg server and libdrm from the build service.

Still, to work with acceleration using UXA/DRI2 I needed to pass a parameter to the kernel: ā€œi915.modeset=1ā€.
GL was slower than with 2.6.27.23, and not very stable. E.g., switching to a text VT woudnā€™t redraw.

I noticed that 2.6.30.4 fixes some things, like the brightness controls in my HP 6730s laptop. But I keep having even bigger problems connecting to my wifi AP when it is set to 802.11n.

So I switched back to plain opensuse 11.1, and now GL with EXA driver seemed slower than before :O, but still faster than with UXA/DRI2 on the 2.6.20.4.

Then, I thought of testing 2.6.30.4 with EXA, reinstalled everything again and this time I couldnā€™t manage to start X with EXA, UXA nor even without acceleration. I canā€™t understand it.