Joining an OpenSuse 13.1 Domain Controller

Hello…

I’m trying to join other machines to a new OpenSuse 13.1 (64 bit) domain controller, but the server doesn’t accept the user “root” for domain authentication. The error message from the boxes I’m trying to join return “the user name cannot be found.” The joining boxes recognize the domain name, and DNS name resolution is working.

I’m a bit of a novice using OpenSuse as a PDC. I’m not sure if Samba is even the actual domain authenticator at this point, or if the Samba authentication module may be missing the domain administrator “root.” Worse, I’m not certain which conf files contain domain authentication user names, or how to correct the problem in any YAST2 module, or in the Samba Server gui. The systems I’m trying to join are Windows based OSes, PS3, XPPro, and Win2kPro, but I don’t believe they are the problematic parts.

I’m guessing it’s a simple fix or configuration switch, but I lack Linux experience. Could use any words of advice from all less green than me!

Many thanks,

John

A starting point could be whatever reference you’re using to guide your setup.
If you’re using one, post a link. That way people might at least have an idea what you’ve tried to do.
Else, you’d probably end up having to post all your individual steps.
But, I’d recommend always using a reference.

TSU

Thanks, it’s a huge help to realize how the original question is interpreted, so I can post more specifically - - buuuut I have to post all the steps taken. The only non-default options installed were for the the SW selection