Installing Updates, At this rate my drive will be full soon!

Hi,
I am new to OpenSUSE. A master of Windows, I have been distro hopping for years, but never found a good fit. With the new era of the Appleization of MS, you know, the Google/Chrome Store, hidden product keys, manditory Outlook accounts and all their other tracking BS, I finally had to jump ship and I have settled into OpenSUSE. I wanted a non-Ubuntu (Ubuntu going the way of Win?) distro that was easy to install and setup, especially finding all my hardware. OpenSUSE was the only one that scored 100% out of the box. Getting Flash to work was the only challenge, took some reading, but was do-able. And I find Brazero fails to burn bootable discs frequently while my PowerISO in Win has never failed a burn. I do have some questions tho:

1. I notice the installer made separate partitions for the system(20Gb I think) and data(220Gb). I just did my 3rd software update. Has been a week since the last one. It now wants to download 1.5Gb of updates. Is this normal, so big? Won’t my system partition fill up rapidly at this rate? What happens when it is full?
  2. My network, via USB Wifi, sometimes drops the connection and becomes unlisted in the Network Manager. Toggling it off and back on returns it to the list. It is a strong signal. Anything I should know.? Its a TP Link W722N USB external wifi adapter that was found by the installer and worked straight away after the initial install.
    Packard Bell EasyNote TK AMDAthlon P320 4Gb DDR3 RAM
    dual boot Win 7 and OpenSUSE
    Thanks
    mannshands

Hi

I think openSuSE does not keep the downloaded update packages. It just downloads them and installes but than deletes the downloaded update files (unless you tell openSuSe to keep them). You could check your available disk space before and after update. On my system its just the same.