Installing suse11 on Parallel MacBookPro can't get 1440x900

Hi,

I am new to opensuse, just have a fresh installing thru DVD image, am having a bit of issue with the video resolution. I have installed ubuntu in parallels - I have a 15" Macbook pro. And I can get 1440x900 wide resoultion.

Is there any help for getting opensuse11 to work on parallels on the same resolution? 1440x900 is a wide screen resolution.

thanks in advance if you guys can provider any help.

Cheers!
pin

What have you tried so far?

Typically, in openSUSE Linux, your PC’s graphic settings are stored in the configuration file /etc/X11/xorg.conf.

What I typically do, in such a case is first backup that file!! Then I boot to run level 3 (a text/ascii mode) and run a program called sax2 to configure the graphics.

What graphics card does your mac book pro have? nVidia? If so, do you know if you are using the vesa graphic driver ? or openGL (opensource) graphic driver ? or proprietary nVidia driver?

You can tell which graphic driver by typing in a konsole or terminal:
grep -i driver /etc/X11/xorg.conf

• If the driver is “nvidia” you are using the proprietary driver
  • If the driver is “nv” you are using the openGL driver
  • If the driver is “vesa” you are using the vesa driver

DETAILS:

So, armed with that information, reboot your PC to run level 3. I’m not sure how this works on a MacBook pro. If you get the grub menu (which is where you select which operating system you wish to boot to) then press “3” (no quotes) to enter ‘3’ into the options line in the grub menu for the openSUSE boot. This will then boot your PC to run level 3 (ie boot to an ascii / text login). [If that does not work you will need to boot to a GUI and instead type “init3” with root permissions and someone else can explain how that works]