Installing Suse11 on MSI Wind Clone

Hi
I’m a total newbie, but have now on 2nd try successfully installed suse11 on my PC (after have experienced KDE crash when I did an update & ignored warnings)!!

I’m now trying to install on a Medion E1210 which is a version of the MSI Wind. Intel Atom processor N270 (1.6) with a 10" screen at 1024 x 600. The live DVD boots OK but doesn’t adjust to the screen & I can’t see the taskbar. Have tried changing screen resolution etc., & whilst icon size changes taskbar is still invisible! As the press says this machine is to be sold with Suse11 installed I’m assuming there’s a solution to this - any helpful suggestions gratefully received.

PS: Wouldn’t be up to rebuilding the kernel as I really am a total newbie!!!

Bob

On Fri, 2008-08-01 at 12:06 +0000, Bobstead wrote:
> Hi
> I’m a total newbie, but have now on 2nd try successfully installed
> suse11 on my PC (after have experienced KDE crash when I did an update
> & ignored warnings)!!
>
> I’m now trying to install on a Medion E1210 which is a version of the
> MSI Wind. Intel Atom processor N270 (1.6) with a 10" screen at 1024 x
> 600. The live DVD boots OK but doesn’t adjust to the screen & I can’t
> see the taskbar. Have tried changing screen resolution etc., & whilst
> icon size changes taskbar is still invisible! As the press says this
> machine is to be sold with Suse11 installed I’m assuming there’s a
> solution to this - any helpful suggestions gratefully received.

Try a normal CD/DVD of 11 and use a text based install. I know that’s
not as “good” as a live. But there are some significant differences…

You can do an image backup of the hard drive before trying this…
(of course).

>
> PS: Wouldn’t be up to rebuilding the kernel as I really am a total
> newbie!!!
>
> Bob
>
>