Installing proprietary Nvidia drivers breaks my system (GTX 970)

Hey, I’m a newbie and Leap is my first ever distribution. I followed instructions to install nvidia drivers via the repository with the g04 packages but when I reboot I have a black screen with multiple error screens : Plasma “plasmashell aborted” 3 or 4 windows, and 1 Krunner “krunner aborted” window. I can’t do anything past that, reloading Plasma and Krunner doesn’t work. I had to load a snapper snapshot, I already did this 2 times.

I’m now a bit afraid to touch these drivers… Why doesn’t it work ?

I’m using an older Nvidia card (GeForce 6150LE). That worked fine with KDE4.

On Plasma 5, I had to change compositing to use XRender (instead of OpenGL). Otherwise Kwin loops.

I don’t know if that has any relevance to your problem.

If you want to try that, then before you install the Nvidia driver, boot with “nomodeset”. That should be stable enough that you can disable compositing or set it to XRender. The setting is under “Display and Monitor” in the desktop settings.

Hey… same issue here for my GTX 970 so I installed them manually. Here’s how.

Go to the official Nvidia site and download the latest drivers for your GPU. Once it’s downloaded you MUST disable Nouveau like this

echo "blacklist nouveau" > /etc/modprobe.d/50-blacklist-nouveau.conf

then do

mkinitrd

After that reboot but here it gets tricky!

You will be greeted with a no-gui shell (tty) and from there you must install the nvidia drivers.

First give/set yourself root :

sudo -i

after that cd to the directory where the nvidia drivers are located at. I am assuming it’s in your download folder so in that case it would be :

cd /home/yourname/Downloads

from there run

ls

incase you forgott the name of the nvidia driver package, which you probably did.

Now let’s install the driver by doing :

./Nameofyourpackage

It will eventually greet you with a ugly looking installer. After you finished the installation reboot by typing :