Installing OpenSuse On Old Laptop

OK, I am a newbie here. I have a dell Latitude CS 400XT with BIOS Revision A13. It has one usb port and a wireless lan card-bus. (There is no option to boot from USB in BIOS.) I do not have a cd-rom or floppy drive compatible with the laptop but, I have an adapter so I can connect the HDD via USB to another PC. I am hoping to install openSuse on it but not sure how. Thanks for any replies in advance.

Regards,
Phabbits

On my older laptop, there is no BIOS support for booting from USB, and the CD drive is broken.

It turns out that PLOP boot manager can boot from USB. In my case, after starting PLOP, I had to use SHIFT-U to boot from the USB in USB1.1 compatibility mode. This has worked well, though booting from USB is slow.

I have no operating system currently installed, will it still work?

On Mon, 18 Feb 2013 18:16:02 +0000, Phabbits wrote:

> OK, I am a newbie here. I have a dell Latitude CS 400XT with BIOS
> Revision A13. It has one usb port and a wireless lan card-bus. (There is
> no option to boot from USB in BIOS.) I do not have a cd-rom or floppy
> drive compatible with the laptop but, I have an adapter so I can connect
> the HDD via USB to another PC. I am hoping to install openSuse on it but
> not sure how. Thanks for any replies in advance.

What are the specs on the system? The default memory IIRC (and according
to what I’ve found online) is 64 MB, and the CPU is a P-II processor.

If you haven’t upgraded the memory, this isn’t going to be a sufficiently
powerful enough system to run openSUSE. Even if you have upgraded the
memory to the max 320 MB of memory, it’s going to be a tight fit, and
probably isn’t going to perform well if it runs at all - I had an older
Latitude D610 with a gig of memory and that was barely sufficient to get
decent performance running straight Linux apps (forget virtualizing
anything - which I needed).

You won’t get GNOME or KDE running well in that amount of memory. LXDE