Installing openSUSE-Edu Li-f-e via NETBOOT

Hello all.

I recently started a foundation where I collect used computer equipment for underprivileged students. Originally I chose to use Ubuntu’s Educational version, edubuntu, but, I think that I might change my mind. I just recently discovered OpenSuSE’s Educational port, openSUSE-Edu Li-f-e.

I am a Unix/Linux engineer and I am very familiar with SuSE, specifically SLES. I maintain about 500 SLES servers at work, so, if I can get openSUSE-Edu Li-f-e installed, I will most likely go with that distribution.

A number of machines that I am working with are older and only have CD drives and cannot boot USB, so I am trying to install via netboot.

My original thought was that I would download the ISO and mount it and share it out within my network, then netboot and point the machine to that ISO mount. However, I got errors saying no repository found. After taking a look at the image, I realized that no repository information is provided in the image. Other Linux distributions that I’ve worked with included the repository information, so I assumed that it would work with this distribution as well.

I decided to try to install from online OpenSuSE repositories. I pointed my install to:
http://download.opensuse.org/repositories/Education/openSUSE_13.2/

but I still get “No repository found”. I see repository information in the sub-directories, so I would think that it would work, but apparently it does not.

Anyone have ideas or suggestions?

Thanks

Daryl

Hi
Your better off to do a net install from the default openSUSE 13.2, then add the education repository and install the pattern (ymp file). Else look at building your own via SUSE Studio…? Welcome – SUSE Studio

I have Li-f-e version installed on a computer here (but Leap 42.1, not 13.2). It’s a very nice selection. At one time, I had the 13.2 version installed, and that was pretty nice, too.