Installer asking for Domain Info - don't know what to respond!

Hey there

I am new to OpenSUSE. Have previously used Ubuntu, Kubuntu, NetRunner, Mint and KaOS

Thought I would give Tumbleweed a spin after reading good things

However, the installer is asking me things I have never come across before with any of the aforementioned distros

Other installers recognise the Wi-Fi network and just ask me for the security key

With yours, I was firstly asked to configure the wireless networking card and specify a hostname. So I made one up and got past that stage

Secondly, i was asked to specify the domain name. I entered the IP address of the router but got an error that the required response is a mixture of letters, numbers and hyphens separated by dots!!!
I honestly don’t have a clue how to respond!

So sadly, I had to abort the install
:o(

Grateful for your advice please as I am very keen to give Tumbleweed a go!

Cheers
R

You can pick any values, like “mylaptop” as hostname, “mydomain” as the domain.

FYI, this is not the default way to connect to networks when using a desktop. You checked the “Add online repositories …” checkbox in one of the installer’s screens, so it needs a network connection.

Another question: are you aware that TW is a rolling release? IMHO not the best choice to start. Not because it’s unstable, but because it by nature is subject to changes. Starting from a stable release would give you a better learning path about the specifics of openSUSE in relation to your knowledge in linux so far.

Hey thanks so much for the quick response
I worked out the issue was that it defaulted to static IP. When I changed this to Dynamic everything was a whole lot smoother
The point re Tumbleweed is well made
I have never used a rolling release before so this is experimental for me
I might return to the stable release like you said
I have another question which I will raise in another thread
Thanks again
Cheers
R

A FYI