Installed OpenSuse 11 on an Older Computer

Hello there! I am an OpenSuse 11 newbie. I formally dual-booted Win-XP and Ubuntu with some mixed results.

I am currently operating the OpenSuse 11 in my HP Pavillion 754n computer. I have modified it slightly (the ram and video card) so it is not the original machine that I purchased. No major changes but just enough.

So far, so good. I have installed OpenSuse 11 utilizing the version of KDE that came right before 4. KDE 4 was either too jittery or I was to inexperianced to maximize it’s full capabilities. Either way, I’m happy so far. The system recognized my wi-fi card and that makes me real **** happy. It was eager to recognize my printer/scanner/copier (Brother MFC) and the digital camera printer I got from Kodak even. It did all that on the first day.

So yeah, I’m impressed. And I ain’t no expert at open source, not by a long shot. So congratulations folks! You did a good job that I am happy with so far. I don’t expect perfection but I am happy things work.

Now, the reason I am posting this is because I figured it would be wise of me to ask my “betters” what should be my next step? What updates and downloads should I attempt? In what order should I do these improvements and what should I avoid?

More importantly, I have a holy grail of sorts to pursue in OpenSuse. I have two webcams, one is a Hercules Dualpix and the other is a Logitech Quickcam Expresss. I was pleased to see that on starting up I noticed that in the start-up script, OpenSuse was already acknowledging that I have a Hercules Webcam, which suprised the hell out of me to put it mildly. Now how do I capitalize on that and make it work?

Hope I didn’t ask too much too soon and yes, even if the webcams never work, I’m having fun in Opensuse 11.

I’ll leave the answering to you folks, thanks ahead of time!

Welcome Kanuckeh

Some basic linux info for you to read:

Concepts - openSUSE

Have a look here for webcam support:

HCL/Web Cameras - openSUSE